generative-ai-for-beginners vs ai-agent-book
Two of the top projects in Learning and cookbooks, side by side: who leads on each score part and who each one suits, then setup, license, activity and what each review found.
generative-ai-for-beginners
21-lesson course on building generative AI apps in Python and TypeScript
ai-agent-book
Open book on AI agent design, with 109 runnable companion experiments
Verdict
generative-ai-for-beginners ranks higher, 81 to 77. Of the 4 score parts we measure for both, generative-ai-for-beginners leads on 2, ai-agent-book on 1 and 1 is even.
- Adoptiongenerative-ai-for-beginners leads by 22 points, 98 to 76: a wide gap.
- FreshnessEven at 100.
- Maintenanceai-agent-book leads by 19 points, 81 to 62: a wide gap.
- Agent-readygenerative-ai-for-beginners leads by 30 points, 30 to 0: a wide gap.
Pick generative-ai-for-beginners if you are
Developers new to building LLM apps who know basic Python or TypeScript
- Build lessons ship code in both Python and TypeScript where possible
- Covers RAG, function calling, agents, fine-tuning and security in one sequence
Pick ai-agent-book if you are
Engineers learning to build and evaluate LLM agents, Chinese readers first
- 109 companion experiments mapped to chapters, installable per chapter via uv.lock or pip
- PDF and EPUB in 15 languages, plus an online reader
| What we compare | generative-ai-for-beginners | ai-agent-book |
|---|---|---|
| Score parts, out of 100 | ||
| Adoption | 98, widely used | 76, popular |
| Freshness | 100, active | 100, active |
| Maintenance | 62, fair | 81, healthy |
| Easy to run | Not scored for this kind | Not scored for this kind |
| Agent-ready | 30, minimal | 0, none |
| Facts from GitHub and the README | ||
| Stars | 121.4k | 54.4k |
| License | MIT (permissive) | Apache-2.0 (permissive) |
| Last commit | Oct 2026 | Sep 2026 |
| Last release | None published | None published |
| Language | Jupyter Notebook | Python |
| Docker | No | No |
| GPU | Not needed | Optional |
| arm64 or Apple Silicon | Not stated | Not stated |
generative-ai-for-beginners
A Microsoft Cloud Advocates course of 21 lessons, each a README with a short video and code samples, split into "Learn" concept lessons and "Build" lessons. Topics include prompt engineering, text and chat apps, embeddings search, image generation, function calling, RAG, agents, fine-tuning, and small, Mistral and Meta models. Code targets Azure OpenAI, OpenAI API, Microsoft Foundry Models or Foundry Local.
Who it is for: Developers new to building LLM apps who know basic Python or TypeScript
Strengths
- Build lessons ship code in both Python and TypeScript where possible
- Covers RAG, function calling, agents, fine-tuning and security in one sequence
- Lessons are independent, so you can start at any number
- MIT license; translations into 50+ languages
Weaknesses
- Samples assume Azure OpenAI, OpenAI API or Foundry access, which may need paid accounts
- Several lessons list video as coming soon
- Cloning includes 50+ translations, so sparse checkout is needed for a small download
- GitHub Models lessons are tied to a service retiring end of July 2026
- no GPU
- Needs Azure OpenAI Service, OpenAI API, Microsoft Foundry Models, Foundry Local, GitHub account
- Models: Azure OpenAI, OpenAI, Microsoft Foundry Models, Foundry Local, Hugging Face open models
ai-agent-book
A Chinese-language book, "Understanding AI Agents in Depth", with 10 chapters built on the formula Agent = LLM + context + tools. It covers context engineering, memory and RAG, tools and MCP, coding agents, interaction, evaluation, post-training and multi-agent collaboration. The repo holds the book sources, PDF and EPUB builds in 15 languages, and 109 Python experiments installed per chapter with uv or pip.
Who it is for: Engineers learning to build and evaluate LLM agents, Chinese readers first
Strengths
- 109 companion experiments mapped to chapters, installable per chapter via uv.lock or pip
- PDF and EPUB in 15 languages, plus an online reader
- Covers evaluation and post-training (SFT/RL), not only prompting and tool use
- External repos are pinned to commit SHAs for reproducible setups
Weaknesses
- Original text is Chinese; the other 14 translations are community-made and may lag
- README says experiment code is agent-generated and not read line by line by the author
- Installing or cloning does not mean an experiment was run; status is tracked separately
- Most experiments need provider API keys; some need CUDA, browsers or external repos
- GPU optional
- Needs Python 3.11-3.13, uv or pip, LLM provider API keys, pandoc and xelatex (only to build the PDF)
- Models: Kimi, GLM, DeepSeek, OpenRouter, Siliconflow
More in Learning and cookbooks
- ai-engineering-from-scratch vs generative-ai-for-beginners
- ai-engineering-from-scratch vs ai-agents-for-beginners
- ai-engineering-from-scratch vs ai-agent-book
- generative-ai-for-beginners vs ai-agents-for-beginners
- ai-agents-for-beginners vs ai-agent-book
- The full Learning and cookbooks ranking with reviews
Building with these?
We help teams pick an open-source AI stack and run it in production. Client work never changes a rank.