ai-agents-for-beginners vs ai-agent-book

Two of the top projects in Learning and cookbooks, side by side: who leads on each score part and who each one suits, then setup, license, activity and what each review found.

33rd of 33 in Learning and cookbooks

ai-agents-for-beginners

18-lesson course on building AI agents with Microsoft Agent Framework

#44th of 33 in Learning and cookbooks

ai-agent-book

Open book on AI agent design, with 109 runnable companion experiments

Verdict

Both score 77; ai-agents-for-beginners ranks higher on stars, 77,229 to 54,403. Of the 4 score parts we measure for both, ai-agents-for-beginners leads on 2, ai-agent-book on 1 and 1 is even.

  • Adoptionai-agents-for-beginners leads by 12 points, 88 to 76.
  • FreshnessEven at 100.
  • Maintenanceai-agent-book leads by 21 points, 81 to 60: a wide gap.
  • Agent-readyai-agents-for-beginners leads by 30 points, 30 to 0: a wide gap.

Pick ai-agents-for-beginners if you are

Developers new to building AI agents, comfortable with Python

  • Each lesson is standalone, so you can start at any topic
  • Covers design patterns plus MCP, A2A, NLWeb, memory and deployment

Pick ai-agent-book if you are

Engineers learning to build and evaluate LLM agents, Chinese readers first

  • 109 companion experiments mapped to chapters, installable per chapter via uv.lock or pip
  • PDF and EPUB in 15 languages, plus an online reader
ai-agents-for-beginners vs ai-agent-book: score parts and facts
What we compareai-agents-for-beginnersai-agent-book
Score parts, out of 100
Adoption88, widely used76, popular
Freshness100, active100, active
Maintenance60, fair81, healthy
Easy to runNot scored for this kindNot scored for this kind
Agent-ready30, minimal0, none
Facts from GitHub and the README
Stars77.2k54.4k
LicenseMIT (permissive)Apache-2.0 (permissive)
Last commitOct 2026Sep 2026
Last releaseNone publishedNone published
LanguageJupyter NotebookPython
DockerNoNo
GPUNot neededOptional
arm64 or Apple SiliconNot statedNot stated

ai-agents-for-beginners

A Microsoft course of 18 lessons on building AI agents, each with a written README, a short video for most lessons, and Python code samples in Jupyter notebooks. Topics include tool use, agentic RAG, planning, multi-agent patterns, memory, MCP/A2A/NLWeb protocols, computer-use agents, local agents and securing agents. Samples use Microsoft Agent Framework with Microsoft Foundry Agent Service V2, and some also support OpenAI-compatible providers such as MiniMax.

Who it is for: Developers new to building AI agents, comfortable with Python

Strengths

  • Each lesson is standalone, so you can start at any topic
  • Covers design patterns plus MCP, A2A, NLWeb, memory and deployment
  • Text, short videos and runnable Python samples per lesson
  • 50+ language translations kept current by GitHub Action

Weaknesses

  • Samples are built around Microsoft Agent Framework and Foundry, which need an Azure account
  • Some later lessons have no video
  • Cloning pulls large translation folders unless sparse checkout is used
  • Alternative provider support is only partial, per the README
  • no GPU
  • Needs Microsoft Foundry (Azure account), Microsoft Agent Framework, Microsoft Foundry Agent Service V2
  • Models: Microsoft Foundry models, OpenAI-compatible providers (MiniMax)

ai-agent-book

A Chinese-language book, "Understanding AI Agents in Depth", with 10 chapters built on the formula Agent = LLM + context + tools. It covers context engineering, memory and RAG, tools and MCP, coding agents, interaction, evaluation, post-training and multi-agent collaboration. The repo holds the book sources, PDF and EPUB builds in 15 languages, and 109 Python experiments installed per chapter with uv or pip.

Who it is for: Engineers learning to build and evaluate LLM agents, Chinese readers first

Strengths

  • 109 companion experiments mapped to chapters, installable per chapter via uv.lock or pip
  • PDF and EPUB in 15 languages, plus an online reader
  • Covers evaluation and post-training (SFT/RL), not only prompting and tool use
  • External repos are pinned to commit SHAs for reproducible setups

Weaknesses

  • Original text is Chinese; the other 14 translations are community-made and may lag
  • README says experiment code is agent-generated and not read line by line by the author
  • Installing or cloning does not mean an experiment was run; status is tracked separately
  • Most experiments need provider API keys; some need CUDA, browsers or external repos
  • GPU optional
  • Needs Python 3.11-3.13, uv or pip, LLM provider API keys, pandoc and xelatex (only to build the PDF)
  • Models: Kimi, GLM, DeepSeek, OpenRouter, Siliconflow

More in Learning and cookbooks

Building with these?

We help teams pick an open-source AI stack and run it in production. Client work never changes a rank.