hello-agents vs ai-agents-for-beginners

Two of the top projects in Learning and cookbooks, side by side: who leads on each score part and who each one suits, then setup, license, activity and what each review found.

33rd of 28 in Learning and cookbooks

hello-agents

Chinese-language course on building LLM agents from scratch

#44th of 28 in Learning and cookbooks

ai-agents-for-beginners

18-lesson course on building AI agents with Microsoft Agent Framework

Verdict

Both score 77; hello-agents ranks higher on stars, 83,127 to 77,155. Of the 4 score parts we measure for both, hello-agents leads on 2, ai-agents-for-beginners on 1 and 1 is even.

  • Adoptionhello-agents leads by 3 points, 88 to 85: close to even.
  • FreshnessEven at 100.
  • Maintenancehello-agents leads by 10 points, 70 to 60.
  • Agent-readyai-agents-for-beginners leads by 30 points, 30 to 0: a wide gap.

Pick hello-agents if you are

Python developers and students learning to build LLM agents, Chinese readers

  • 16 chapters from theory to capstone, with runnable code in the code folder
  • Includes an Agentic-RL chapter going from SFT to GRPO training

Pick ai-agents-for-beginners if you are

Developers new to building AI agents, comfortable with Python

  • Each lesson is standalone, so you can start at any topic
  • Covers design patterns plus MCP, A2A, NLWeb, memory and deployment
hello-agents vs ai-agents-for-beginners: score parts and facts
What we comparehello-agentsai-agents-for-beginners
Score parts, out of 100
Adoption88, widely used85, widely used
Freshness100, active100, active
Maintenance70, fair60, fair
Easy to runNot scored for this kindNot scored for this kind
Agent-ready0, none30, minimal
Facts from GitHub and the README
Stars83.1k77.2k
Licensecustom license (read the license)MIT (permissive)
Last commitOct 2026Oct 2026
Last releaseJul 2026None published
LanguagePythonJupyter Notebook
DockerNoNo
GPUNot statedNot needed
arm64 or Apple SiliconNot statedNot stated

hello-agents

A 16-chapter Chinese tutorial from Datawhale covering agent fundamentals, ReAct, Plan-and-Solve and Reflection, low-code platforms (Coze, Dify, n8n) and frameworks (AutoGen, AgentScope, LangGraph). Later chapters build a custom framework on the OpenAI API and cover memory, RAG, context engineering, MCP/A2A/ANP, Agentic-RL (SFT to GRPO) and evaluation. Chapter code is in the repo's code folder.

Who it is for: Python developers and students learning to build LLM agents, Chinese readers

Strengths

  • 16 chapters from theory to capstone, with runnable code in the code folder
  • Includes an Agentic-RL chapter going from SFT to GRPO training
  • Builds a custom agent framework on the OpenAI API, not only framework usage
  • Free online reading and PDF download, plus extra chapters on interviews and skills

Weaknesses

  • Written in Chinese; an English README is linked separately
  • License is CC BY-NC-SA 4.0, which bars commercial use
  • Assumes basic Python and experience calling an LLM API
  • Hardware and model requirements for the exercises are unknown
  • Needs OpenAI-compatible LLM API
  • Models: OpenAI API

ai-agents-for-beginners

A Microsoft course of 18 lessons on building AI agents, each with a written README, a short video for most lessons, and Python code samples in Jupyter notebooks. Topics include tool use, agentic RAG, planning, multi-agent patterns, memory, MCP/A2A/NLWeb protocols, computer-use agents, local agents and securing agents. Samples use Microsoft Agent Framework with Microsoft Foundry Agent Service V2, and some also support OpenAI-compatible providers such as MiniMax.

Who it is for: Developers new to building AI agents, comfortable with Python

Strengths

  • Each lesson is standalone, so you can start at any topic
  • Covers design patterns plus MCP, A2A, NLWeb, memory and deployment
  • Text, short videos and runnable Python samples per lesson
  • 50+ language translations kept current by GitHub Action

Weaknesses

  • Samples are built around Microsoft Agent Framework and Foundry, which need an Azure account
  • Some later lessons have no video
  • Cloning pulls large translation folders unless sparse checkout is used
  • Alternative provider support is only partial, per the README
  • no GPU
  • Needs Microsoft Foundry (Azure account), Microsoft Agent Framework, Microsoft Foundry Agent Service V2
  • Models: Microsoft Foundry models, OpenAI-compatible providers (MiniMax)

More in Learning and cookbooks

Building with these?

We help teams pick an open-source AI stack and run it in production. Client work never changes a rank.